Sublimity

18 05 2010

You know you’re close with someone when you can just come over to their place and be there for a while without an objective.  One thing I’ve hated about adult life is how much we have to have a “reason” to get together with friends.  Events and reasons for getting together are usually fun, and I’ve always looked forward to events with my peers, but I also spent a lot of my free time with friends just hanging around and talking, playing cards, board games, video games, building things, riding bikes, driving down to the beach, downtown San Luis, visiting people at work, and many other things that just happened.

Now, I’m blessed to have roommates who are as enjoyable to spend time with as anyone I know, and frequently more so.  I’m not complaining by any stretch of the imagination.  However, I miss the familiar otherness of having that friend whose house/backyard/dorm room/apartment I could just go to and spend time at.  And vice versa.  I think it’s selfish of me, but I miss it.  Maybe it’s a sort of aimless amiability that childhood can grasp far better than adulthood — and maybe that’s the way it’s supposed to be.  I suppose I’m supposed to be becoming more independent, and while that doesn’t mean close friendships need be abolished as one ages, I suppose it does mean that the sort of close friendship I’m missing is going to be much harder to find than it was in Los Osos.  And I guess I’ll just have to learn to be ok with that, as much as I really want to have some nebulous person to walk through the door right now and start cracking a joke about the Dodger game that’s playing in the background of my thoughts.

* * *

Since the series finale of LOST is coming up this weekend (I think), I’ll be looking for any especially good Gilligan’s Island analogies I can use to really irk the show’s biggest fans.  Submit them as they occur to you.

Right now, I’m thinking of just “accidentally” using the term castaway around Randall all week, then walking around humming the best TV show theme song right before he goes to sleep each night.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

