The Secret World of Alex Mack

15 10 2009

I had a great breakfast with a friend this week.  I really like breakfast in general, but breakfasting with friends is always a great way to start the day.  It’s strange, however, because if I am eating a normal breakfast at home, I prefer to just make some _____ and grab some grapefruit juice and read an article or two in a quiet place.  I’m not much for conversation, words, or even grunts in the morning.  However, when I’m pumping coffee and cholesterol into my bloodstream with an enabler, look out world.

One of things Alex and I talked about was money.  While both of us are in the “needing some” area of the money scale, it was interesting to hear each other as we basically echoed similar thoughts back and forth about the fixation upon money that our society has.  In fact, Christians as much as (if not more than) anyone seem to seek financial security as if it’s an identifiable point in life that will enable them to live more freely.  But when has money, of all things, ever granted true security?  Surely, having money to support and sustain a family is a worthy goal, but once we begin to think that it is we who are providing that money for ourselves, things start to get murky.  I don’t need to retread tired anecdotes about how the richest people are the unhappiest, but it’s worth noting that the middle class is as dominated by financial worries as any demographic.  The security that we preach to be solely found in God is, however, much more pleasing when we know that our next paycheck is going to cover more than we need.

I’ve been blessed throughout my life to be strongly supported by my family.  While I have had a job of some sort ever since my paper route in ’97, there have certainly been lean times.  You know what, though?  I seem to worry about impending monetary difficulties more and more despite the fact that every previous one has somehow been dealt with or provided for through God’s provision.  This has often been family, and sometimes been random blessings, but I should be one of the last people on earth to be worrying about how I am going to feed myself.  I know that things may well get worse before they get better, but I also know that what I may fear as the “worst” is probably a far cry from an actually terrible situation.  In fact, it might be fair to say that, by constantly concerning myself with cash flow difficulties, I am squandering the wonderful time that I am enjoying right now thanks to the aforementioned.

I have so much more than I deserve, yet I continue to plague myself with doubts about my abilities and potentialities.  If I (and lots of us) could, for a serious amount of time, simply buckle down and work my tail off doing whatever I can find to do regardless of how much security it offers I would probably be a much happier person.  I think it’s all about a lack of faith.  I wonder how long I can sustain myself on my earnings now, or how long I can be blessed from new (and familiar) sources of generosity, but I fail to trust that provision will come as it ought to, and in doing so, I dilute what should be pure gratitude and love with a feeling of relief from worry.  How sad it is that I think my petty problems deserve worry when I could be praying for and worrying about others instead!  Someone told me today that they cannot wait to see what sort of career I end up having with my “experience,” and while I am tempted to take that comment wryly, I believe I would be better served to look with excitement upon tomorrow, waiting with bated breath to see which of God’s mercies are new this morning.  No matter how many times I experience them, I always feel that mere thanks are inadequate.  In that way, at least, I am blessed when people that love me show me generosity, because I can at least direct thanks (and potential blessings) back to them.  I guess this means I’ll get the joy of buying breakfast next time, Alex.

Actions

Information

One response

23 10 2009
Living on Prayer « Why I’ll Never Be Famous

[…] Instead, I just thought about prayer.  I don’t really pray enough, and I don’t really immerse myself in the Word enough.  I think those two things should go together in my life, and I think Lewis’s emphasis on nonverbal prayer is perfectly paired with the Word Himself.  Mr. Chan always makes me think a lot, and he is, to reiterate, what sparked my interest in the conversation I had with Alex the other day. […]

Leave a Reply

