Tell Me Why This Shouldn’t Offend Me

30 05 2009

“Justice [Sandra Day] O’Connor has often been cited as saying that a wise old man and a wise old woman will reach the same conclusion in deciding cases.  I am also not so sure [sic] that I agree with the statement   I would hope that a wise Latina woman with the richness of her experience would more often than not reach a better conclusion than a white male who hasn’t lived that life.”

-Supreme Court Nominee Sonia Sotomayor

I don’t really know where to start on this quote (pulled from the June 1-8 issue of TIME).  One the one hand, it’s pretty standard pratice these days to bash white males as being the bastion (eh?) of close-minded intolerance.   On the other hand, hearing a potential (and exceedingly probable) justice of the highest court in the land espouse this opinion really disturbs me.  Smarter people than I have demonstrated the fallacy (and danger) of thinking that WASPs are the worst people group in America, and I’ve learned to just accept that as a given in our Modern Society.  I’m not going to spew some harangue about how much this bothers me (too late), but I can’t shake the feeling that I need to shout at someone.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

