Today I Decided to Listen to a Cool Indie Band

27 05 2009

I like my share of obscure music.  I do.  So when I saw an interesting video by Of Montreal, I decided to get one of their albums and see if I could find myself on the cutting edge of little-known music and extreme bragging rights among my less-cultured friends.

I actually have a newer album called Skeletal Lamping, but this video is fairly representative of their stuff.  The electric beats and peppy rhythms speak for themselves, and the underwater vocals are fairly par for the course.  One part 60s alternative, two parts electric folk, and no parts grunge.  The chords are back and forth melodic, and the cyclic melodies will keep you walking to the beat.  Especially if you’re a computer.  The funk factor is there, but it doesn’t take you along for the ride so much as parade itself in front of you, constantly twisting and contorting itself to keep your attention.   And if you’re shy about sexually forthright lyrics, they’re probably not the band for you or your kids.  I could throw a couple of the more eyebrow-raising track titles out there, but that wouldn’t be completely fair.  Of Montreal is clearly setting the mood, and they’ve released plenty of material to sustain it for a while (they’re releasing albums at nearly a yearly rate for the past few years now).

To sum up, I’ll compare it to candy.  Like a Baby Ruth bar, there’s a lot of chewy nougat to digest.  If you’re looking for a quick bite, you’re looking in the wrong place.  They love to meander up and down scales until even the most devoted fan begins to wonder if their LP is skipping, but if you chew long enough, you’ll begin to understand exactly what gives it that odd taste.  The sweet caramel is there, so there’s sufficient hooks for the casual listener to at least enjoy some of their songs, but it likely won’t be drawing any fans that aren’t looking for a band like Of Montreal to play in the car during road trips with their cool friends in the first place.

At least, that’s what my review would look like if they weren’t an insane and weird band of freaks.  Seriously, go find some GOOD music to listen to.

That said, I’m still a Derek Webb fan.  Slings and Arrows, away!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

