Pendantics

9 09 2008

Woke up at 5:10 this morning, not totally sure why. Couldn’t get back to sleep, so finally crawled out of bed at like 6:30. Bleah.  I suspect that my body was refusing to relax again since it knew I had to be at a morning Chamber of Commerce meeting/breakfast at 7:30, but still — 5? Really, Mr. Body?

Dressed appropriately/garbed with pure hot, I left the house feeling ready to sleep in my car. Instead, I got to sit at the table which all the city employees chose to bless with their presence. No, thanks, I’d rather not admit that I will be asking you all for a favor in the near future. Let’s just eat. Pass the caffeine, hm?

As if my energy levels weren’t depleted enough, Randall noticed a blood drive going on down the street, which had FREE ICE CREAM. I’ll trade my plasma for milkfat any day of the week, baby. Randall was so excited that he blew his vein (artery?) all over the floor. Good thing I got the reliable nurse. I always seem to get along well with nurses, especially female ones. Maybe they just sense that indefinable quality within me: The quality of being a smarmy mass of pomposity who will submit to the demands of the healthcare professional with a smile and a compliment.

Oh yeah. I really wanted that ice cream.

Tried to overeat at lunch to make up for lost nutrients, but I think I broke the scale in my attempt to tip it. Insert fat jokes here, but be aware — I’m in better shape than I’ve been in years. Specifically, a sort of pentagonal shape. Say pentagonal again without laughing. Now again….again…gotcha.

At teaching land, I got yanked from 4th grade (where I’ll be for the forseeable future) back into 6th today since Kevin apparently didn’t feel the need to get a replacement. Hey, at least I knew two of the kid’s names right off the bat.  Biggest accomplishment? Getting a smile from Jason, who only speaks Korean, when I communicated to him, through pointless English (habit) and gestures, that he only had to do one page of homework instead of two. Oh, the adoration these kids bestow upon their lenient taskmasters…

Dropped Randall off once I got home and went straight over to the city council meeting — was about ready to sleep, but the halls of justice wait for no man. Fortunately, the civic center usually takes its time, so I just got to hear the “under God” in the pledge of allegiance. It’s a good sign, right?

If you’re interested, Sam’s Burger’s was denied a liquor license because of density concerns. Please, try not to scream that loudly in the future. The kids are asleep.

Happened to see Jason and John O. there too. Small world. Especially when you only go across the street, turnsout.

And, how was this day capped?

Colbert. Doyle. Ethier.

It felt so right. Except that I wanted to go to bed at 8. Grandma would be ashamed of me.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

