The Optimist Rains

3 09 2008

Even over the weekend, I’ve noticed my disposition maintaining a level of positivity that, even a few months ago, would have seemed foreign and repugnant. 

Oh, don’t worry, I’m still a sarcastic and biting son of a gun, but I know something you don’t know, and it’s really been keeping me aloft pretty regularly over the last little while. 

I suppose now would be a good time to dwell upon the peaks and troughs of life, but I’d much prefer to continue immersing myself in the first real patch of unadulterated bliss since my high school days. 

Writing makes me happy. Not here, so much, but in general. Being able to categorize myself as such, and receiving little (trivial, even) affirmations on a regular basis has done a lot to solidify my notions about who I am.

And, I know something you don’t know.

 

Hey, have a little Chesterton for now. This quote had me at “hello.”

Yet He restrained something. I say it with reverence; there was in that shattering personality a thread that must be called shyness. There was something that He hid from all men when He went up a mountain to pray. There was something that He covered constantly by abrupt silence or impetuous isolation.

There was some one thing that was too great for God to show us when He walked upon our earth; and I have sometimes fancied that it was His mirth.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

