Defense, Defense

5 06 2008

Moving last weekend was surprising for two reasons:

1. We were not up past 2 in the morning.

2. I am much more content than I was before we moved.

To clarify, I don’t like change. I like being settled, I like having my needs met and I like knowing my routine and being able to fit any odd situation into the parameters of what I am familiar with. (That sentence might not make sense to me either)

But now, despite having no car, little money and lots of questions from two different insurance companies, I feel at home. My friend John asked me yesterday if, having graduated, Southern California was finally feeling like home for me. I told him that I wasn’t really sure; some days make me yearn for home, but my hope for the future is that I will find what I want apart from my location. Home, for me, is not where I am comfortable. It is where I have to be. Knowing full well that I will only ever think of Los Osos as “home” in the fullest sense of the word, I think I am comfortable with appropriating that term for Gagely Manor for the next year or two.

Song of the Week: Jimmy Eat World, Firefight

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

