Keeping Busy?

17 05 2008

I have really reached the end of my foreseeable future.

I went to college and I’m graduating.

At our department dinner last night, I was struck by how much more I could have done. Sure, I did just about everything that was asked of me, and I tried to do it well. I excelled in some classes, and I scraped by (proudly) in some others. Like Biology. About which I am still bitter, so don’t bring it up.

The class I was really remembering, though, was MCOM 107, tv/radio journalism.  Having not owned a video camera before the preceding summer, I was reasonably sure that my time as a premier journalism student was coming to a premature end. After all, I have a face for radio and a voice for miming (or so Micah tells me) and this is one area that requires charisma, which I can summon at random times, but not usually at will. To top it all off, the professor teaching it was Tom Nash, who had retired from the department the year before I got there, and was now living out of his RV and grudgingly (he unabashedly told us) returned to teach the class because no one else was able to do it. “Oh boy,” I though, “We’re really cooking now.”

Turns out, this class was as good for me as anything has ever been. I acquired actual proficiency, albeit on a basic level, in both radio and television productions of newscasts. I don’t really want to do either in the long run, but the fact that I managed to scrape an A minus out of a class that scared the C plus out of me was really encouraging to me. I took a course, and learned to do something. I did well in it, all things considered (curse you Andrew Mollenbeck, the eternal grade curve wrecker), and I will take that knowledge with me forever. Or until I forget it because I don’t care.

Bottom line: I wish more of my classes had been like that in some way. Philosophy of Journalism approached that, but on a very different and theoretical level. Spanish was practical, I guess, although I felt like I deserved the grades from the opposite professors from which I received them. Que es la vida de un peridisto, no?

Here’s to practical knowledge and wishful thinking. May theoretical musings always be actualized by abilities, and may good company always trump self-congratulations.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

